RSS

Always have a project

10 Feb

You should always practise your craft, wether that be writing or photography. With this in mind I make it my business to always have a project in hand. My Random Acts of Cinema project is something I’ve been working on, on and off, for about 10 years.

With it I film stuff around me wherever I might be and try to cut it into a random piece of ambient cinema. Once they are done I upload them to a playlist on YouTube and gradually the overall thing gets longer and more complex.

MAKE SOMETHING TO PRACTISE YOUR ART EVERY DAY, NO EXCEPTIONS.

If you want to write then write, if you take pictures have a camera on you at all times, if you make music then at least record a little idea or doodle every day . . . you see the pattern. Draw and paint, make music, write, make photos and films. Do it every day. You will automatically get better and better all the time.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2015 in Creative Genius

 

2 responses to “Always have a project

  1. ailsaclare

    February 10, 2015 at 7:55 pm

    I love this advice! About six months started doing 10 minute “warm-up” writes every morning, first thing. Its amazing – not only have I generated lots of useful material ideas, but I also feel more ready to work on my major projects too. I still have to remind myself about the “no exceptions” part occasionally however, so thanks for the nudge!

     
    • Phil South

      February 10, 2015 at 10:18 pm

      You’re welcome! And yeah the reason it was in capital letters is to remind ME too. Have fun. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
