RSS

Do You Have a New Years Revolution?

10 Jan

The’s not a spelling error. I meant to say REVOLUTION.

You see, I’m not big on resolutions, because I think many people use New Year as an excuse to set themselves unfeasibly huge goals, or worse still arbitrarily schedule piffling personal habit removal (smoking, eating, bell ringing) which could be done at any time. Either way I’m not comfortable with the idea I might be trying to artificially introduce major change based solely on the change of year from one to another. People want to make a splash, a fresh start. I don’t see New Years that way.

I see them as a refocussing exercise. A necessary housecleaning process. A meditation on your goals, wants, needs and mission in life. I have this ritual at New Year and on every birthday. It’s like if you work for yourself where you are rewriting your business plan on a regular basis (which I also do) where you reassess where you are going and if the plan you had for getting you there is still valid. It’s like that, a combination status check, refocus, new thought, and meditation on your possible futures. It’s checking to see if you are on track, seeing if you have old stuff in your mind and work that need to be cleared out.

This year I have a few things on my mind, things I want to achieve and ways I want to grow.

1. Finish the novel
my novel has been on hold since I started prepping the Creative Genius Programme and once that’s finally finished and on sale I’ll have to forget all the excuses and get on with the book. On the up side, having had so much time away from it I can read the existing first draft chapters with a fresh eye and make some informed choices.

2. Finish the screenplay
same applies for the film I want to write and eventually direct. Although this has been pulling me away from the CGP work on a regular basis. I have a better excuse with the screenplay because against my own advice I have no clue where I’m going with it, it’s just kind of evolving. I can write the novel and plan the screenplay.

3. Market and Launch CGP
I’ve spent the best part of 2011 making my creativity training technology CGP ready for launch, and the best thing I can do is make sure as many people as possible see it. If nobody knows it exists then what’s the point, right? Plus I mean to make CGP and the company I’ve created to market the technology a success in 2012, a viable business and career. It’s going to take a lot of work, but I am so into the task I have a real shot at making that happen.

4. Make a Film
I am a filmmaker after all and when is the last time I made a film? I am getting the bug again and I know that I don’t want 2012 to elapse without making a proper film with actors and a small crew. I miss being on set so much sometimes it actually hurts.

5. Make Time for Me
All this working is going to have a hit on my personal development if I let it. I need to ensure I have time for meditation, exercise, health maintenance and other things which inform and empower me. Relationships, children, household environment and other personal things must not suffer because I want to be a success.

oOo

As I said I am getting very close to launch of my online course for creativity, Writing Fit, will be on sale very soon. If you want me to let you know when it’s ready for you, subscribe to my newsletter on this link and I’ll keep you in the loop. This is a unique product, and I know you’re just going to love it.

oOo

Recommended Reads
The Wealthy Writer by Nick Daws and Ruth Barringham

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, this is truly wonderful book, containing a lot of insider information I wish I’d known before I tried making a living writing online. There’s a section on writing for the Internet, and how you become an online copywriter. It goes into the intricacies of writing to a style, but also really meaty technical tips like the best practice for including keywords for SEO etc. He talks about house style, personality and tone, but he also gives some wicked advice about compressing your thoughts and keeping it simple, punchy and impactful. There are sections on creating and maintaining your writers web site, writing articles for article hubs, and selling your services as a freelance on job auction sites. Then there’s blogging. Also the chapter on writing and selling information products, also known as eBooks, which is actually literally the best piece of writing on this subject I have ever read. It was bang on. Add to that the articles about affiliate networks, VRE, promotion, AdWords and a mass of other superb nuggets of wisdom from Nick and his co-writer Ruth and you have one of the biggest and best writer training products you can get. As I’ve said before Nick is one of the few writing coaches whose work I really respect, and on the strength of this work, Ruth is also one of my new favourite teachers.

Most other ebook writers give you a 50 page cut and paste fest full of decent but unoriginal material and charge the earth. In my experience Nick does the exact opposite of that. This book is no exception, a huge 259 pages of densely packed professional advice to get you on the road to being a professional, and yes, wealthy writer. To purchase your own little piece of heaven follow this link. You won’t regret it.

See you soon,

Phil

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2012 in Creative Genius

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Do You Have a New Years Revolution?

  1. Naked Girl in a Dress

    January 17, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    I wrote a similar piece on my blog, but mine didn’t have any business goals on it. I made a list of things I want to do in 2012 like:

    Read Two Gentlemen of Verona and see the play at the Shakespeare Theater in February.
    Attend two baseball games in two stadiums I have not been to before (leaning towards Philies and Reds).
    See The Addams Family at the Kennedy Center this summer.

    I can’t wait to tackle my list this year. It is filled with about 10 things I am really looking forward to doing throughout the year.

    Great post!

     
    • Phil South

      January 17, 2012 at 2:38 pm

      Thanks Kelly, and be sure now you found your way not to be a stranger! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
