RSS

The Creative Genius Deck (out now)

08 Nov

Creative Genius Deck LIVE

first product causes massive excitement

I’m thrilled to announce my first real product, The Creative Genius Deck is out now, priced at a modest £16.95, and available with free shipping until December 31st 2010.

The Creative Genius deck is a pack of 52 cards for use during creative writing (or visual art). Either flip through the cards one by one or choose a card at random. The card deck as you may know was originally conceived and designed by me as an iPhone and iPad app (coming very soon to the iTunes store) built by the amazing Damon Jones and John Molloy of inSignificant Productions. But I decided to also produce them as a physical deck and they turned out SO beautifully that I’ve decided to sell them.

I’ve had a lifelong love affair with playing cards of all sorts, tarot cards, poker cards, Happy Families, and other card games. I was not part of the Top Trumps generation, that passed me by, but everything to do with cards has always fascinated me. My primary inspiration for the deck came from three main sources which I freely acknowledge here. Obviously I conceived these cards initially from my work with you on this blog but I realised afterwards that the inspiration came from some other sources.

The first and most obvious debt of thanks is of course to Brian Eno and Peter Schmidt’s wonderful Oblique Strategies, deck, a deck of “Over one hundred worthwhile dilemmas” made originally in 1975 and republished I think another four times since then.

A less obvious influence was the Zebu deck by Robert Anue, a set of language pattern cards based on the hypnosis techniques of Milton H Erickson, and published in 1992. This is long out of print, but something similar has recently been published by Ericksonian hypnotist Igor Ledochowski in his Conversational Hypnosis Card Deck. (A similar deck was recently devised and produced by Jamie Smart of Salad Consulting)

Obviously I’m also influenced by the fortune telling machines at old time circuses and fairgrounds, boxes containing the top half of a mysterious swami who for a coin will dispense your future on a card from a conveniently located slot at the front of the case… Scary circus moods are a running theme in my work, both musically and artistically.

Enjoy these cards and let me know how you get on with them.

Go to www.creativegeniusdeck.com for more details and to buy a deck for yourself. Each deck is hand finished and comes with a free booklet describing how to use the deck and the meanings of the cards. We can only make a limited quantity of the cards every month so get in soon. Hope you enjoy using them as much as I enjoyed making them.

oOo

Subvert Expectation

The best way to get your audience’s attention is to lead them into an expectation and then dash it intelligently and satisfyingly at the last moment.

You lead someone into a dark and gloomy house. Expected.

You lead them upstairs. Expected, but the audience is willing them not to… you let them go up, but halfway they stop as if hearing something. Ah, better.

They go down the stairs again and look in the basement. Oo don’t go in there, people always go into the basement and there’s no escape… They try the door. Locked. Phew. Relax for a sec.

Only one place left, the kitchen. There are sounds coming from in there, a light. They creep towards the door, hand on the door handle. They push it… suddenly a trapdoor opens and they fall from sight into the basement. Surprise!

Give people what they want, but ALWAYS change how they get it.

oOo

Subscribe
Thank you for reading this blog. I really enjoy writing it, and I’m glad you enjoy reading it enough to come back. I’d also like you to invite you to subscribe to the newsletter. If you’d like to get more guides like this dropped right into your email, then I urge you to sign up for my FREE email newsletter using the form here.

Subscribe to the FREE monthly Creative Genius Newsletter

Every month I’ll be telling you more about how to become a creative genius, with helpful tips and techniques to help you find great ideas and make them happen. You’ll also have a chance to get free and inexpensively priced eBooks and soon a range of hypnosis meditations to free your creative unconscious. Join us on the mailing list for all this and more.

Also watch out for the new apps for iPad and iPhone/iPod Touch on the iTunes store, including the iPhone version of the Creative Genius Deck. I’ll let you know when they are launched, but I’m very excited about these apps as they are taking my creativity training in a whole new and unexpected direction. I hope you enjoy them.

Thanks for reading, see you soon.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 8, 2010 in Creative Genius

 

Leave a Reply

 
