RSS

Making Your Readers Care

28 Jul

Sorry again it’s been such a long time since my last confession. I promise to make up for it in the weeks to come. What have I been doing? Mostly thinking. I know sounds like a waste of time doesn’t it? But actually as I’m always saying to you, thinking time is never a waste. I’ve been putting the finishing touches to the PLAN for my new book. Yeah not the book itself but the plan.

I know again that sounds like a waste of time, but trust me when I say planning is like thinking, NEVER a waste of time. I have people in my lessons when I teach who ask if planning kills creativity… surely, they say, if you plan too exactly it kills all creativity and spontaneity? Well, I counter gruffly, there is no such thing, in fact planning precisely takes the heat off you so you can spin your flights of fancy and not have to worry about where you are going. It’s like autopilot for the brain.

Anyway I’ll let you know as soon as the book is available. Members of the newsletter mailing list will get first crack at it, but you will get access soon after. Watch this space.

oOo

So how do you make people care about what you write? I know it’s hard to swallow but face it, nobody cares about what you have to say. I’m not being mean or callous when I say that, it’s true of every writer. Nobody cares or has time for what you have to say so you have to MAKE them care.

How do you do that? Is there a magic formula that you can use to make your readers care about what you write? I’ll tell you in a minute. First let me say something heretical: I don’t think JK Rowling is a very good writer. I know, it’s a shocking thing to say, I mean she’s enormously famous, and one of the richest people ever to write down a word in the English language. So she must be an excellent writer, her every phrase and sentiment laced with nuance and meaning, her words tripping into your mind like stealthy little pixies and lodging there forever.

No.

If you have ever tried to read one of her stories to a child you’ll know she isn’t a very good writer at all. Her stories are repetitive, (count the times she says Harry, Ron and Hermione and you’ll go crazy) lacking in real meaning and basically low grade fantasy pulp. I know, I know, you probably love the Harry Potter stories and now you hate me for my heresy and obvious lack of taste. But hold on. I didn’t say they weren’t successful, well loved or worthwhile. They are all those things. But the point I’m making is that she doesn’t have to write great prose or good characters to be all those other good things to a HUGE amount of people. She just has to make you care about the characters and after that you’ll follow her through the woods, into the air, under the ground, through a maze of Harry, Ron and Hermiones and indeed ANYWHERE she wants to take you. You care.

Why?

Okay the magic formula. In order to make your readers care about your characters and about your story you… engage their attention with surprising events, then let them know there are a lot of things they don’t know, mysteries to which the solution is bound to be interesting. Often JK doesn’t bother making the solutions to the mysteries satisfying, another flaw in my enjoyment, but she does tie everything up.

Actually there is no magic formula to do this. I kind of lied about that, but I did lead you to expect a solution at the beginning, which led you to read to the end, and that is a demonstration of the power of this technique. But you do have to work very hard to make people care and you do this by making sure you have a simple compelling message, find a way to surprise your audience, add mystery so they know there is a gap in their knowledge and then keep doing that all the way along to the end, not forgetting of course if you promise a solution to provide it at the end or people get very irate.

Making people care is a crucial skill if you want to be a good writer, and there are a great many ways to do it. But at the same time you must always strive to provide meaning as well as entertainment, because any old writer can blow stuff up and have characters chasing each other across the world for no reason, but few, very very few writers can make us think, make us cry and make us grow.

oOo


If you want to know more about this topic then you will certainly enjoy my FREE monthly Creative Genius Newsletter, this month entitled “JK Rowling Wants Me Dead“.

Subscribe
Thank you for reading this blog. I really enjoy writing it, and I’m glad you enjoy reading it enough to come back. I’d also like you to invite you to subscribe to the newsletter. If you’d like to get more guides like this dropped right into your email, then I urge you to sign up for my FREE email newsletter using the form here.

Subscribe to the FREE monthly Creative Genius Newsletter

Every month I’ll be telling you more about how to become a creative genius, with helpful tips and techniques to help you find great ideas and make them happen. You’ll also have a chance to get free and inexpensively priced eBooks and soon a range of hypnosis meditations to free your creative unconscious. Join us on the mailing list for all this and more.

Thanks and see you next time.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 28, 2010 in Creative Genius

 

One response to “Making Your Readers Care

Leave a Reply

 
