RSS

Give It A Week!

05 Feb

Guest Blog by NICK DAWS

I have great pleasure in introducing my friend NICK DAWS as a guest blogger on today’s post. I respect Nick’s ideas about writing immensely having enjoyed many of his eBooks on writing over the years, and in fact he can take part of the credit for inspiring me to get back into writing after many years away from the crease while I was teaching and honing my craft as a filmmaker. I’m delighted to hand you over to him for an inspiring essay about allowing your ideas room to breathe. Over to you, Nick.

oOo

photo by John Harvey

‘Give it a week’ is a piece of advice I heard many years ago when I was starting out as a freelance writer.

I believe the phrase is commonly used in advertising agencies, though as I’ve never worked in one of these myself I can’t confirm this – I simply read it in a book, the rest of which I’ve long forgotten.

Anyway, the idea behind the expression is that, before signing off any piece of creative work, you should put it to one side for a week. When you return to it, with fresh eyes you are almost bound to see ways in which it can be improved.

Of course, in our frenetic world, you may not always have a week to spare – but even if you can only give it a day, the principle still applies.

I have always tried to apply this guideline in my writing, and on those occasions when I haven’t, I’ve often regretted it. I think there are two reasons why it is such a worthwhile principle to follow.

First, when you return to a project after a break, you see it more clearly and objectively. It’s a well-known fact that if you spend hours working continuously on a project, you become so close to it you no longer see ‘obvious’ mistakes and infelicities – for example, in a piece of writing the repetition of the same long word within a couple of sentences. This is otherwise known as the ‘can’t see the wood for the trees’ phenomenon.

But, even more important, if you leave the project for a while, you give your intuitive right brain the chance to come up with its own creative suggestions. Readers of my course ‘Write Any Book in Under 28 Days’ will know that I’m a big believer in the right brain, left brain theory – the idea that we all have in effect two brains, a rational, logical left brain and an intuitive right one.

The right brain cannot communicate directly the way the left brain does – instead it works by sending ideas bubbling through in dreams and moments of inspiration. Giving the right brain time and space to work often results in better ideas than if you just sit down and try to complete an entire project in one sitting.

Personally, I find that a lot of my best ideas come when I am doing something totally unconnected to writing. Best of all, for some bizarre reason, is mowing the lawn, but shopping, walking and driving are also good. On the other hand, I can’t say I have ever had any especially good ideas whilst watching TV – I think it’s because television occupies all our senses and drowns out any attempt by our intuitive right brain to communicate with us.

Anyway, my main point is, when you think you’ve finished any creative project, if you possibly can, set it aside for a week, then return to it for a fresh look. I’ll be amazed if you don’t find weaknesses you didn’t notice before, and things you can polish, improve and sharpen.

If you don’t have a week, give it a day at least, but any break before tackling the final version is better than none. Otherwise, I can guarantee that, soon after pressing the ‘Send’ button, you will think of at least three ways the work in question could have been improved!

oOo

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Nick Daws is a full-time freelance writer and editor, based in Staffordshire, UK. He has a blog at www.mywritingblog.com and a homepage at www.nickdaws.co.uk.  He is the author of over 80 non-fiction books and a wide range of writers’ guides, including the best-selling Write Any Book in Under 28 Days. You can also follow him on Twitter at www.twitter.com/nickdaws.

oOo

Want to read more? Subscribe
Thank you so much for reading this blog, and if you’d like to get more creativity guides by me dropped into your email every month, then I would love it if you’d sign up for my FREE email newsletter using the form here.

Subscribe to the FREE monthly Creative Genius Newsletter

Every month I’ll be telling you more about how to become a creative genius, with helpful tips and techniques to help you find great ideas and make them happen.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2010 in Creative Genius, Essay

 

2 responses to “Give It A Week!

Leave a Reply

 
